October Photography Challenge Evaluation

So, instead of another Wordless Wednesday, I decided to evaluate last month’s challenge. (I will soon write another post about this month’s challenge, so keep your eyes peeled!)

In short, the October Photography Challenge was a fun one to do. I soon (the first day already!) realized that it was unrealistic to expect myself to bring my big camera everywhere, so several photos have phone camera quality. I once read a comment from a famous photographer who said, “The best camera is the one you have with you.” I guess that is true…

Despite having my phone always with me, I failed to take a photo on various days. Sometimes I forgot; other times I simply didn’t feel like making the effort. That’s life – it is not always appropriate to take out your camera. On the other hand, there were days I toke dozens of photos, but I only show one photo per day in this post. (You may have seen different ones if you follow me on Instagram.)

I don’t feel like I learnt many new things or experimented a lot, which was part of the goal. I hope I will do so in the months to come. We shall see.

For now, I will leave you with an impression of my month. Hope you enjoy it. And feel free to leave me a comment to let me know what you think of the photos or give me any tips on how to improve them!

Saturday, Oct. 1: Vegan gala in Hamilton

Saturday, Oct. 1: Vegan gala in Hamilton

Sunday, October 2

Sunday, Oct. 2: Splashing around

Monday, Oct. 3: Delicious sweet potato curry

Monday, Oct. 3: Delicious sweet potato curry

Tuesday, Oct. 4: Not shown to protect other people’s privacy.

Wednesday, Oct. 5: Not shown to protect other people’s privacy.

Thursday, Oct. 6: Fifty shades of grey...

Thursday, Oct. 6: The view from our window shows fifty shades of grey…

Friday, Oct. 7: Another play day at home due to rainy weather

Friday, Oct. 7: Another play day at home due to rainy weather

Saturday, Oct. 8: Maria sporting her new shoes!

Saturday, Oct. 8: Maria sporting her new shoes!

Sunday, Oct. 9: Risotto, what a warming weekend meal!

Sunday, Oct. 9: Risotto, what a warming weekend meal!

Tuesday, Oct. 11: A new hairstyle for Mom and Maria 1.5 years old!

Tuesday, Oct. 11: A new hairstyle for Mom and Maria 1.5 years old!

Wednesday, Oct. 12: No photo taken

Thursday, Oct. 13: A beautiful, sunny run around the lake

Thursday, Oct. 13: A beautiful, sunny run around the lake

Friday, Oct. 14: Making a mess (at my friend's house)!

Friday, Oct. 14: Making a mess (at my friend’s house)!

october-15

Saturday, Oct. 15: Photo shoot at home

Sunday, Oct. 16: More playtime at home

Sunday, Oct. 16: More playtime at home

Monday, Oct. 17: Maria's first time on the track!

Monday, Oct. 17: Maria’s first time on the track!

Tuesday, Oct. 18: Finishing first lady at the 5K East Riverside run!

Tuesday, Oct. 18: Finishing first lady at the 5K East Riverside run!

Wednesday, Oct. 19: My little helper

Wednesday, Oct. 19: My little helper

Thursday, Oct. 20: No photo taken

Friday, Oct. 21: Coffee and cake (and pasta bolognese for Maria as well)!

Friday, Oct. 21: Coffee and cake (and pasta bolognese for Maria as well)!

Saturday, Oct. 22: Half marathon with Maria in the stroller (with a few necessary playground and food breaks of course). What a patient girl she is...

Saturday, Oct. 22: Half marathon with Maria in the stroller (with a few necessary playground and food breaks of course).

Sunday, Oct. 23: And another great day with lots of playground fun

Sunday, Oct. 23: And another great day with lots of playground fun

Monday, Oct. 24: Labor day and visiting a strawberry farm

Monday, Oct. 24: Labor day and visiting a strawberry farm

Tuesday, Oct. 25: No photo taken

Wednesday, Oct. 26: Beautiful patio at the church where we attend a weekly music class

Wednesday, Oct. 26: Beautiful patio at the church where we attend a weekly music class

Thursday, Oct. 27: No photo taken

Friday, Oct. 28: No photo taken

Saturday, Oct. 29: My friend's daughter (cut off here to respect her privacy) feeding Maria. A lovely day at Hamilton Gardens.

Saturday, Oct. 29: My friend’s daughter (cut off here to respect her privacy) feeding Maria. A lovely day at Hamilton Gardens

Sunday, Oct. 30: Another lovely playground morning

Sunday, Oct. 30: Another lovely playground morning

Monday, Oct. 31: No photo taken

3 thoughts on “October Photography Challenge Evaluation

Leave a Reply

