Top 5 delicious & energizing breakfast recipes

There are things I cannot understand, no matter how much I try. Like why someone’s favorite season would be winter. I’m all about sun and warmth and at the moment stubbornly denying the cooler morning breeze that we have been feeling in this tiny part of the world ever since we said goodbye to the summer month of February (nature didn’t quite understand there were supposedly 29 days this year, and on this intercalary day we woke up feeling cold and wishing for our winter duvet).

What I understand even less is why someone would opt to skip breakfast. I mean, isn’t that the main reason to get out of bed anyways? Wasn’t the whole concept of a meal first thing in the morning invented to get people up and start their day?

And while we are still enjoying summer (Yes, we are and no, the end is not in sight!) waking up to a steaming hot breakfast is even better. I have been making the same porridge for months and months on end and still not grown tired of it. Though, admittedly, I do play a bit with the toppings and type of oats. Does that count as having a varied diet?

However, since I started this month’s challenge I figured this was the perfect occasion to try some new breakfast recipes and I must admit, some of them are definitely there to stay and add a little more variety to my mornings, although porridge will likely remain my staple for breakfast, as it is healthy, quick and simply delicious.

Anyways, here are my five favorites of the moment, in no specific order. I hope they will lighten up your mornings as much as they do mine (and Maria’s now as well!).

1.Chocolate oatmeal with peanut butter and banana

Warm chocolate banana oatmeal with peanut butter-1

Possibly my all-time favorite and extremely easy to make, you wouldn’t believe this is actually a healthy refined sugar-free breakfast that will kickstart your day, no matter how early the start. Click here for the recipe.

2. Apple pie oatmeal

Another hearty bowl that will spike your energy levels on a cold winter morning is the Oh She Glow’s apple pie oatmeal. If you like apple pie, you will love this breakfast that combines nutritious oats with apple, unsweetened applesauce, spices like cinnamon and ginger, chia seeds, almond milk and a drizzle of maple syrup. Top your bowl with walnuts or whatever nuts you fancy to increase the healthy fats content.

3. Vegan pancakes

There could easily be more pancake recipes out there than there are people in the world. Pancakes made of white flour, brown flour, oats, buckwheat or even chickpea flour; pancakes with eggs or without; pancakes made with cow’s milk, almond milk, soy milk or any other milk; sweet or savory pancake batters; should I go on? I’m still on the lookout for the best recipe, but if you need inspiration check out this post.

4. Raw buckwheat porridge

DSC_0016

I jumped very late on the buckwheat bandwagon, trying them for the first time only a couple of weeks ago in a salad I had at a little cafe in town. As soon as I finished that salad I sprinted to the bulk foods store to start experimenting with them at home. The first thing I tried was this raw buckwheat porridge from Oh She Glows and while I was not crazy about the result Maria loved it, which of course is reason enough to make it again. As the porridge came straight from the fridge, I thought to microwave it. As I did, something magical happened (ok, not so magical when you think about it): the porridge firmed up into a dense cake-like substance. I topped it with some homemade jam and nuts and loved it! So if you don’t like the original recipe you can always try heating it up a little.

5. Avocado toast

5 Foods I'm loving lately-5

When I’m in a crunch I can always resort to some toasted bread with avocado spread. Simply toast a couple of slices of wholemeal bread, spread generously with a very ripe avocado, add sea salt and pepper to taste and enjoy! I like to top my avocado toast with tomato slices, baby rocket, alfalfa sprouts, or all of these.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 delicious & energizing breakfast recipes

Leave a Reply

