March recipe challenge

Just a quick post to say hello and announce the challenge I have put myself to for the month of March. I will soon write another post evaluating my February challenge.

I had a hard time deciding on a new challenge. There are just so many things I’d like to do! To make it a bit easier, I resolved that the challenge for March had to meet two criteria: It had to be food- or health-related and it shouldn’t take a lot of time. The latter criterium was the most important, as I have seen my ToDo list growing over the past few months. In January I did the 30 days of yoga challenge, but as I am still doing Lesley Fightmaster’s Yoga Fix 90 I get on my mat every single day. This month my challenge has been to work on my blog for at least 30 minutes a day, something I would also like to stick to next month as well. I figured that by the end of the year, I would have so many new commitments that my days would be filled with them, interfering with another resolution I put myself several months ago: to ditch my ToDo list.

I considered quitting sugar or avoiding salt and see what would happen when another thought popped up: It was time for some new recipes! Last year I did pretty well trying new things. I think moving to another country and going to a different supermarket is a great way to mix things up. However, that is not an option this year, so it is time to put some more thought into the meals I make at home.

In short, I decided to commit myself to trying two new recipes each week, or a total of 10 new recipes this month. It can be a new main, side dish, lunch, breakfast, snack, dessert – as long as it’s something I’ve never made before.

To get in the mood, I made a new dish yesterday featuring green beans, quinoa and toasted pumpkin seeds. Very simple, but it turned out pretty well!

I will try to make photos of the meals I create and perhaps add the recipes (if I found them online or made them up myself, as I don’t want to infringe any copy rights!). The recipe for aforementioned side dish is pretty easy.

March recipe challenge

Green beans with quinoa and toasted pumpkin seeds

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of quinoa
  • 1 cup of vegetable stock (can be powder or a cube)
  • 500 grams green beans
  • Handful of pumpkin seeds
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Olive oil, to taste

Directions:

  1. Thoroughly rinse the quinoa and add to a pot with 1 cup of vegetable stock. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to a simmer until all water is absorbed. This will take between 15 and 20 minutes.
  2. Clean and cut the green beans and add to a pot with salted water. Bring to a boil and leave for 1 to 2 minutes, depending how tender you like your beans.
  3. Add a handful of pumpkin seeds to a pan and toast until they start to pop and are fragrant.
  4. Mix the quinoa with the green beans and add salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with olive oil and the pumpkin seeds. Enjoy!

P.S. I served this side dish with roasted pumpkin and potatoes and it was delicious!

 

2 thoughts on “March recipe challenge

Leave a Reply

