Training update: more miles, more yoga

Paradoxical as it may sound, I didn’t think I would have the strength to not run as much as I was used to for this long, but we’re well into February and my mileage this year is incredibly low. I try to ignore my running log, ’cause looking at it will just make me wanna cry, but for the sake of my blog let’s have a look.

I started January with a 10.2-km week, and I continued the month with lots of rest, a few (mostly stroller) runs here and there, and a daily yoga session. To my own surprise, I didn’t miss going out for a run much at all, and my determination to focus this year on yoga and flexibility kept growing. My total mileage for January was a record low of 90.4 kilometers.

This month, I have picked up the pace and distance a little bit, but nothing compared to my normal mileage. I mostly run three times a week, and distances vary from 6 to 16 kilometers, but on average I would say they are about 10 kilometers. At the time of writing, I’ve logged 94.5 kilometers in February.

Meanwhile, I continue practicing yoga daily, something I enjoy so much now that I look forward to my 30-minute session every morning. My only frustration is the lack of progress. It’s not that I don’t make progress at all; it’s just not going as fast as I would like it to be, and I hate being very bad at something. But I agreed with myself to keep practicing for six months and then evaluate whether I want to continue or find a new sport to focus on. I have the feeling yoga and I are in a long-term relation, but who knows…

How do you feel when you start a new sport or hobby from scratch? Does it frustrate you how bad you’re at it? Or do you enjoy learning a new skill?

11 thoughts on “Training update: more miles, more yoga

  1. Rebekah says:

    I need to work on flexibility so badly! What made you decide to pick up yoga? The fact that you needed to work on flexibility, or were you just burnt out with running?

    • Selma says:

      I started yoga when I was pregnant and really liked it. After my pregnancy I wanted to keep focusing on other fitness aspects such as strength and flexibility and not only on cardio. The more I practiced yoga the more I realized it helps me not only to get more flexible but also stronger while at the same time it is relaxing. Plus it’s much easier to squeeze into your day than running. Are you considering yoga as well to improve your flexibility?

    • Selma says:

      That’s what I try to remind myself of. It’s about the journey, not the destination. It’s something I like very much about yoga. Are you still practicing?

  2. Ahmed says:

    I feel good when I start a new hobby like sport, because I know starting is the most challenging part and it is what’s keeping thousands of people from sporting.

  3. jackiethom says:

    Oddly enough, I love starting (or restarting) a specific exercise or workout. I love when I’m sore after them because it shows I’m challenging different muscles. Yoga is actually on my list to try this spring.

    • Selma says:

      You’re totally right! I also love to be sore when I’m working different muscles. It gets challenging when the excitement of the novelty is gone and you just want to be good at it. Or maybe it’s just me! I highly recommend doing yoga. It’s intensive and relaxing at the same time. Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

