February Challenge & 30 Days of Yoga Evaluation

I am excited to announce that last Monday I started a new challenge. This month’s goal, inspired by one of the comments I received after last month’s challenge post, is a bit more difficult than the yoga challenge I did. But before I share it with you, let’s briefly evaluate the previous challenge.

30 days of yoga

Yoga challenge

Photo credit: Elena Struchalina

In January I decided to do 12 challenges this year – each month one. Whether it be health- or fitness-related, involving a new skill, or concerning personal development, I would carry out each challenge for 30 days and decide upon completion if I would like to continue with it and transform it into a habit.

To warm up and get into the right mindset, I kept the first challenge rather easy: Get on my yoga mat every single day. From December onwards I have been doing Lesley Fightmaster‘s Yoga Fix 90 classes on YouTube, except for the days I practice yoga with a friend. I like to do my class when Maria goes down for a nap in the morning, and if that doesn’t happen I do it in the evening, after Maria goes to sleep.

After 30 days -or about 45 days, as I had already started this new habit in December – of practicing yoga daily, I am quite happy with the results. I learnt poses, or asanas, I never thought I could do, and I notice an increased range of motion in my hamstrings and shoulders. My hips and knees, on the other hand, remain very tight and stiff, and my hip joints have been aching me quite a bit. I wonder if that is normal when you take up a yoga practice. Should I slow down or wait until the pain subsides as my body gets more flexible with time?

Yoga challenge-2

Still working on my body alignment, but there is progress!

 

I have truly fallen in love with my daily dose of yoga and am excited to continue. Creating the habit to get on my mat daily has not been difficult at all, since I look forward to it every morning. That said, at times it does frustrate me how stiff my body is, and I wonder how long it takes to be able to do certain poses. Whenever those impatient thoughts creep into my mind, however, I try to remind myself that yoga is not about results and achievements but about the journey – one of the things that attracted me to yoga in the first place. As long as I feel a stretch, I know I am working on the right path.

February Challenge

DSC00928

Old times, when I had an office at home. (Photo credit: Petri van Beuzekom)

Unto this month’s challenge, which is completely different. During the month of February, I will attempt to work on my blog every single day for 30 minutes. This can range from writing new posts or updating my About page to sending out more Tweets or making new photographs. So in the weeks to come, you may notice some changes on this blog, and I hope you will enjoy stopping by to read new posts more regularly. Meanwhile, I will also continue my yoga practice. While it will be a bit more challenging to have two “obligations” each day, I am excited to do both.

Yoga Challenge-1

Do you have any goals for this month? If so, I would love to hear what they are!

5 thoughts on “February Challenge & 30 Days of Yoga Evaluation

Leave a Reply

