August 10-16: Lazy Afternoons While Upping Mileage

Last Thursday I took an unplanned break from this blog. You may think I was too busy getting all my workouts and runs in while also doing lots of other stuff, but the truth is I had a rather quiet week and that exactly made me forgo a post.

You know how you sometimes get lazier and slower when you have not so much planned, ending up stressed out because you haven’t finished your ToDo list yet? It happens to me, and it happened last week. Following two lazy afternoons on Tuesday and Wednesday, I realized on Thursday afternoon that I was not going to have time to write a blog post anymore, and the days after I was so busy catching up on all the ToDos that had been lingering around that I didn’t find the time to write something either.

Oh well, that’s life, but this week I’m hoping to have two posts again – the first one telling you about my runs and workouts from last week. I can tell you I’m pretty impressed with myself! 😉

Monday: Nothing strenuous today, just a 4-km walk with Maria in the stroller to our baby course and back. In the evening I did an upper body and core workout, which got a bit more interesting after I had bought a 5-kg dumbbell the day before. In case you wonder, “Why only one?”, I will buy another one some time but first wanted to try one.

Hill interval training with the running club. Average pace is not correct unfortunately!

Hill interval training with the running club. Average pace is not correct unfortunately!

Tuesday: The usual interval training with the running group was an 800-meter hill interval: going six times as fast as possible up a hill and resting while going down. Including a warm up and cool down, I ran about 13.5 km (not so convinced about the accuracy of GPS here, but in the absence of a more reliable measure I stick to it).

Wednesday: During the day, I walked with Maria to a small grocer that sells dates and other Saudi/Middle Eastern and Indian food – about 5.6 km in total. In the evening, I followed a leg workout on YouTube, which I didn’t save because I didn’t like all the exercises. Basically, they were several variations of squats and lunges. It certainly was an effective workout, because I was very sore for several days following this half hour session.

Tempo run at 4:44 min/km pace. (4:50 min/km pace includes warm up and cool down.)

Tempo run at 4:44 min/km pace. (4:50 min/km pace includes warm up and cool down.)

Thursday: Another run with the club – this time a tempo run. Given my sore glutes, hamstrings and quads, I was pretty happy with this 16.62 km run, of which 13.76 km was at an average pace of 4:44 min/km. Still far from were I would like to be with my tempo runs, but good progress compared to a few weeks back. I also walked about 5 km with Ahmed and Maria.

Friday: I did a 3-km walk with Maria in the stroller to visit a friend and back – so 6 km in total. At home I did the 5-minute core workout I like so much and the 20-minute yoga session for runners.

Saturday: Usually, I do one steady paced run a week with Maria in the stroller, but this time I took the chance and left home immediately after I put her down to sleep in the morning. Somehow I don’t really like running with the stroller. I guess it’s because it’s so heavy and cumbersome. I ran just over an hour and logged 12.74 km. Perhaps my pace (an average of 4:59 min/km) was a tad too fast, but that was because I wanted to be home before Maria woke up – and I succeeded! I even managed to do a few core exercises and push ups before I heard her waking up. In addition, I did the groceries and paid a visit to the vegetable store – a total of 6.8 km that I didn’t log.

Pace is not accurate, but look at how hilly this route is! Definitely a good way to become a stronger runner.

Pace is not accurate, but look at how hilly this route is! Definitely a good way to become a stronger runner.

Sunday: Sunday is usually my slow, long distance run, and every week I wonder how and when I am going to do this. Ahmed is having exams this week and was studying the entire weekend. My plan was to go again as soon as I put Maria down to sleep in the morning – which is normally anytime between 9 and 10 a.m., depending on the time she woke up. I told Ahmed I would stay close from home, so that as soon as she woke up I would run home, get her, and do the remainder with her in the stroller. I felt quite tired while running and wasn’t looking forward at all to doing the last part with a stroller. I ran around and around our apartment, but no call from Ahmed. I was wondering whether I should call him, but figured that would take more time – precious time that I would rather spend logging miles before I would have to take Maria with me. I ran for an hour and 45 minutes and finished about 20 km, got home and… Maria was still asleep! I am aware this strategy won’t always work, but I think her first daytime sleep is probably the best time for me to go out for a run, as she tends to sleep better and longer in the mornings than in the afternoons. (NB: According to Runkeeper I ran a total of 20.23 km at a pace of 5:15 min/km; Garmin told me I did 19.74 at a pace of 5:21 min/km. I trust Garmin more, but let’s just keep it at 20 km. :))

Total: 62.9 km of running, lots of walking as well (which I didn’t log), four strength workouts (ranging from 5 to 30 minutes in length) and one yoga session. This in combination with many wake-up calls at night (more on that in my next “Life With My Baby” post) left me slightly worn out. This week, I will take it a bit easier, also because I have a 10-km race scheduled on Sunday. You will hear how it went next week!

From January 2011, when I started using Runkeeper, I have logged over 10,000 km!

From January 2011, when I started using Runkeeper, I have logged over 10,000 km!

In other news, since I first started using Runkeeper back in 2011, I have logged over 10,000 km! Haven’t decided how to reward myself yet, but perhaps it’s time to use a different app or get myself a new watch that includes GPS? I am currently using Ahmed’s Garmin, but he may want it back one day when he decides to take up running again. Any recommendations?

4 thoughts on “August 10-16: Lazy Afternoons While Upping Mileage

Leave a Reply

