1 month postpartum back in shape update

Last Monday, Maria turned one month – a milestone for her, but also for me it feels like I’m gradually landing back on planet earth. And so I have also started thinking about starting to run and build up my fitness again.

Maria one month old!

Maria one month old! (Photo credit: Petri van Beuzekom)

Before giving birth, I had some ideas about how I was going to get back in shape postpartum, including how to tackle the challenges I thought I would encounter. Soon after Maria was born, I realised I wouldn’t stick to a rigid workout scheme for the weeks (or months?) to come, though I started going for walks with Maria in the sling when she was four days old.

Going out with Maria just after she was born

Going out with Maria just after she was born

Initially, I felt my recovery was going to take longer than I had expected and hoped for. My pelvic floor muscles felt rather weak, especially when carrying Maria in the sling.

Looking back one month later, I am actually quite happy how fast my recovery has been so far. The walks I took gradually got longer, and I am sleeping less during the day. Also, while I certainly get less sleep these days, I don’t feel that sleep deprived. Maria is sleeping very well at night!

Walk along Waikato River with my parents and Maria

Walk along Waikato River with my parents and Maria (Photo credit: Petri van Beuzekom)

Since my family arrived in Hamilton I’ve been walking even more! Various times we walked for about 6 to 8 kilometres. Last weekend we rented a car and drove to the Karangahake Gorge on Saturday and Mount Maunganui (next to Tauranga) on Sunday. We did some very nice hikes (including climbing the mount) there, and I carried Maria in the sling. It went very well, and the thought of starting to run again even popped into my mind!

Revisiting Karangahake Gorge

Revisiting Karangahake Gorge (Photo credit: Petri van Beuzekom)

Climbing Mount Maunganui, a mountain with stunning views of the surrounding sea

Climbing Mount Maunganui, a mountain with stunning views of the surrounding sea (Photo credit: Petri van Beuzekom)

Reaching the top of Mt. Maunganui

Reaching the top of Mt. Maunganui (Photo credit: unknown)

So, although I am not following any schedule or doing any formal exercise, I feel I am already in a good shape. Two weeks after Maria was born I was already back at my old weight (perhaps even before, but I don’t have a scale at home) and able to wear my pre-pregnancy clothes.

Karangahake Gorge

Karangahake Gorge

For the weeks to come, I hope to continue walking regularly with my parents and Maria (let’s hope the weather allows us to). I will definitely wait to start running again until after my parents leave (about two weeks from now) and see how I feel by then. I don’t want to begin too fast and end up with an injury. Perhaps I will do some gentle exercise at home as well in the weeks to come.

Gorgeous views from Mount Manganui

Gorgeous views from Mount Manganui

6 thoughts on “1 month postpartum back in shape update

  1. Mary says:

    I’m enjoying reading your blog as I too am a new mom (with a 2 month old). I am also a runner and love to travel. I ran throughout my pregnancy but haven’t gotten too many runs in since giving birth. Looking forward to hearing how postpartum getting back into shape is going for you and learning from any of your tips!

    • Selma says:

      Hi Mary, that’s great! When did you do your first postpartum run? I feel like I’m ready (tomorrow my daughter is 5 weeks old), but I’ll wait until my family leaves so I have something to cheer me up when they’re gone.
      Are you gonna write anything about your experience as a running mother on your blog as well? Would love to read that too!

      • Mary says:

        I did my first run at 7 weeks pp and it felt great. I probably could have gone out even sooner but hard to find the time.

        I do hope to blog about life as a mom and a runner but have really been slacking on blog postings for a long long time!

  2. Chiel en Tineke says:

    You are doing so well. Maria looks wonderfull. Greetings to Teun en Petri en Ahmed. Think you have a nice time with each other. Love from Chiel en Tineke.

    • Selma says:

      Hi Chiel and Tineke, thank you! Ahmed, Teun and Petri send their warmest regards back to you! Hester and Camiel are here as well at the moment. They are flying back tonight. Thanks very much for the lovely clothes for Maria as well! I can’t wait until she will be big enough to wear them. Love, Selma

Leave a Reply

