Week 36: Waddling on!

Baby reached another milestone today: At 37 weeks, it is considered to be full-term! That means it could come any time and be fine – albeit a bit tiny and light perhaps. It could also decide to wait five more weeks to show its sweet face. For me, both is fine, really. I trust it will come whenever it is ready. Though I may add, if I were baby, I’d stay a bit longer in that warm and cosy place before heading to the big, cold world!

36 weeks and feeling HUGE!

36 weeks and feeling HUGE!

After last week’s big change from taking regular walk breaks to going back to straight running, I continued this during week 36. Overall, it went pretty well, though “running” may be a hyperbole for the jog waddle I’ve been entertaining the population of Hamilton with. Particularly during yesterday’s run, I was very aware of my, let’s say peculiar, tread. I didn’t get into the flow, so to speak. It was therefore amazing to hear RunKeeper telling me I was doing a 5:30 min/km pace! That appeared too good to be true, and when I saw the map of my run I realised GPS had been way off. In reality my average pace had been 5:50 min/km, which I would say isn’t that bad either!

A new ache that’s been nagging me occasionally is side stitches. I have no idea if they are pregnancy-related, but they forced me to slow down a couple of times. Of course, that really nagged me. When I finally have no pelvic pain stopping me I get these annoying stitches!

Week 36 was a rather active one also because of the Balloons Over Waikato festival that took place here. Hot air balloons do not especially excite me, but it was a rather pretty view to see all those balloons taking off right after dawn. Plus it gave me the chance to squeeze in some nice walks on my rest days and get out of bed pretty early to practice my photography skills. The latter was what really made it worth going there, as you can see in these pictures:

Going to Hamilton Lake for the Balloons Over Waikato festival (but really more just to photograph a gorgeous sunrise)

Going to Hamilton Lake for the Balloons Over Waikato festival (but really more just to photograph a gorgeous sunrise)

Sunrise at Hamilton Lake

Sunrise at Hamilton Lake

Since I am already there, I might as well take some balloon snapshots.

Since I am already there, I might as well take some balloon snapshots.

Funny story: On Saturday I agreed to meet a friend at 7 a.m. for the ascension of the balloons and an early morning walk with her dogs. I wanted to bring my camera but also really wanted to squeeze in a jog. With the tripod on my back, camera bag on my side and protruding belly in front of me I waddle-jogged the 2.26 km to the lake. It must have looked hilarious, but I managed to get there in a decent pace of 5:55 min/km!

Funny waddle jog to Hamilton Lake to see the balloons ascending

Funny waddle-jog to Hamilton Lake to see the balloons ascending (with a few breaks to take some photos)

My workouts during week 36 looked as follows:

Tuesday: 8.77 km (only running)

Wednesday: 6.09 (walk to the festival and around the lake)

Thursday: 8.44 km (only running)

Saturday: 2.26 km running and 4.59 km walking

Sunday: 7.79 km (only running)

Total: 37.9 km (27.3 km running and 10.7 km walking)

4 thoughts on “Week 36: Waddling on!

Leave a Reply

