Running while pregnant – 30 weeks

As I wrote in my running post about weeks 28 and 29, I ordered a maternity support belt in the hope this would ease the pelvic girdle pain I had been experiencing lately and take some pressure of my bladder. I had read on blogs from other pregnant runners that wearing a maternity belt while running could be quite useful during the latter stages of pregnancy, but was hesitating to buy one as I could only find them online and was afraid to waste my money (given the absence of proper return policies in New Zealand). At last, I decided to go for the Jolly Jumper Maternity Support Belt because of its price and reviews I had read about it, and on the day I received it – at 30 weeks and 1 day pregnant – I tried my first run with it.

The Jolly Jumper Maternity Support Belt (what's in a name?!)

The Jolly Jumper Maternity Support Belt (what’s in a name?!)

While I was not sure whether the belt would scuff when worn directly on the skin, I thought it was too hot to wear two shirts (and I wasn’t confident enough to just put it over my running shirt) so I decided it would be a good test. Before I started running the belt already felt pretty comfortable and supportive, albeit also quite massive and sturdy.

Long story short, the belt did not bother me at all and stayed neatly in place while running. I felt less wobbly and more confident, and so following a 1-kilometer warm up I decided to go for a tempo run of 9 km with a pace of 5 min/km. (Total run including warm up and cool down was 11 km.)

On the downside, the belt did not noticeably take any pressure of my bladder; I had to squeeze in a potty break after 9 kilometers or so. It also did not prevent my hip/left buttock from getting sore towards the end of the run, and my pelvis kept bothering me post-run and even the day after.

My belly at 30 weeks pregnant (+ my husband trying to take a sneak picture of me as well in the background!)

My belly at 30 weeks pregnant (+ Ahmed trying to sneak a picture of me as well in the background!)

The pelvic pain notwithstanding, I couldn’t resist to go for another run two days later, promising myself to take it easy this time and go for just a short run.

This turned out to be an 8-km run at a leisurely pace along the river. Again I was wearing the belt, but I felt the pain from the beginning of the run, and while it didn’t get worse as the kilometers passed, it didn’t get better either. And the hours after I felt quite stiff.

Relaxed run 8-km run along the river

Relaxed run 8-km run along the river

On Valentine’s Day, Ahmed and I went for a run together around the lake. Although I took it really very easy my hip hurt me from the start. I walked a bit, thinking it might go away, but it didn’t. We ran 8 kilometers. In my training log I wrote: “Perhaps it is really time for a break and bike instead. After a few weeks I can see how it goes.”

Did that mean I finally saw the light and could convince myself to stop running, at least for the weeks to come, and see if there would be any improvement? Read it in my “Runnning while pregnant” post next week!

Going out for a Valentine's Dinner - our last one as a family of 2. :)

Going out for a Valentine’s Dinner – our last one as a family of 2. 🙂

Week 30

Tuesday: 11.03 km (tempo run)

Thursday: 8.08 km (slow run)

Saturday: 8.11 km (slow run)

Total: 27.29 km

6 thoughts on “Running while pregnant – 30 weeks

Leave a Reply

