Birthday thoughts – turning 28

A few days ago I came across an article about turning 28. What a coincidence, I thought, as I would be 28 in a few days. I knew the article was gonna ravage my mood, as it was full of warnings and well-meant advises about reaching this “turning point.”

You may wonder why on earth 28 would be a turning point, but according to this article, when we reach this age we need to get serious about dating – especially if you want to have kids, ’cause, you know, your biological clock is ticking; career – if you wanna switch careers do it now, or else you’ll be stuck in a field you don’t like forever; health – you may have gotten away with junk food until this age, but you should really start watching every bite you stuff in your face to avoid excess fat on the abdomen/hips/butt/you-name-it.

Last year's birthday cheesecake

Last year’s birthday cheesecake

Objectively speaking, I shouldn’t be too worried (as no one should). After all, aging happens only gradually, and a number, in the end, is just a number. What matters more is how you treat your body, I believe. Give it some exercise, some wholesome food, and don’t skimp on sleep. And, not to forget, a little fun from time to time goes a long way as well.

That is not to say I don’t feel like being in a transition period. I don’t know (and don’t care) if it’s the age, but my husband and I have been playing with the idea of change, and we both are convinced we need some new challenges during the course of this year.

For me, that challenge could be anything, from exercise challenges to improving my Arabic, and from taking a course in journalism or writing to enhance my skills to reading some inspiring books.

Turning 27 and getting a golden medal from a friend.

Turning 27 and getting a golden medal from a friend.

Or, maybe, just maybe, we take a leap of faith and decide on some drastic changes. Let’s see what happens in the next few months.

Lovely birthday gifts from some friends

Lovely birthday gifts from some friends

And, to totally wipe out the birhday blues: Turns out women are happiest at the age of 28. Hah! Cheers to a great year!

10 thoughts on “Birthday thoughts – turning 28

Leave a Reply

