What I’ve been up to – April & May

Love coffee? I do, but I also feel I should not be drinking it by the liter. I think what makes me drink it sparingly are all the different – and conflicting! – opinions I read and hear. Some say it’s healthy and full of antioxidants, others say it increases the chance of certain conditions; some say it dehydrates the body, others deny this; there are those who warn against drinking it right after a meal, as it would extract minerals from our body, while others claim coffee contains useful nutrients.

Mmmm, espresso!

Mmmm, espresso!

So I decided to do some research myself and write an article for the newspaper. Wanna know the truth about the black elixir? Read the article.

My work in April and May was pretty much focused on tourism and art. Of course there was that amazing trip to London about which I wrote in my previous post, but also did my write-up about Stockholm come out this month. For some insider tips on this Nothern European capital – hubby and I were shown around by two locals and their cutie pie two-year-old daughter – read the article here.

Stockholm feels like a friendly village on the countryside.

Stockholm feels like a friendly village on the countryside.

While being in London, I managed to squeeze in a visit to an arts and crafts fair, where I met a representative of PR company Gong Muse. Long story short, she had messaged me on Twitter some time before asking if I was interested in covering the London Masterpiece fair (one of the biggest art fairs in the world for those not familiar with the name). Of course I was! I met her in London and did later an interview with Masterpiece CEO Nazy Vassegh, which recently appeared in the Saudi Gazette.

The best of London

The best of London

That Jeddah’s art scene is booming is something I realize more and more, and I am quite proud of it to be honest! I already wrote about the interesting show by Emy Kat to preserve the Old Town of Jeddah; another artist I met was Louis Romero, a French ‘art and steel enthusiast’ who creates sculptures out of metal leftovers, which he founds at the construction company he works for. His exhibition “Metalmorphose” was on display at the French Consulate in April.

"Metalmorphose" by French artist Louis Romero

“Metalmorphose” by French artist Louis Romero

At Athr Gallery, one of Jeddah’s most prominent art spaces, my eye also fell on a fascinating collection of drawings by Syrian cartoonist Ali Farzat when I went there to interview Kat. Although I was unable to meet the artist (he had not been able to come to the country due to visa issues) I thought it was worth writing a story about the satirical drawings that all speak for themselves, and which – surprisingly! – had been approved by the authorities here to be shown to the public.

Haute couture, cuisine & cars: The Italians rocked their party!

Haute couture, cuisine & cars: The Italians rocked their party!

And then there were the Italians, who came up with the crazy idea to organize a major event including everything Italian: food, cars, and fashion. The first two were not a problem, as I’ve written about these things before. The third part, fashion, although not my favorite topic to write about, could be done as well. But how to hide the fact that this Italian haute couture was shown by sleek Arab models dressed in evening gowns? I chose to mention the haute couture part without putting attention on this detail and omit the model pictures. Read the article here.

Not Saudi-newspaper proof!

Not Saudi-newspaper proof!

Other topics I wrote about these two months were an expo that encourages business from home (mainly targeting housewives), Park Hyatt’s yearly roadshow, an e-commerce fashion company, as well as a graphic design senior exhibition at Dar Al-Hekma, a private (and perhaps the best) college in Jeddah.

Graphic Design Senior Exhibition at Dar Al-Hekma

Graphic Design Senior Exhibition at Dar Al-Hekma

Regarding wholesome living topics, I discussed the importance to jump for healthy joints and bones (keep on running!) and burn injuries (they are more common than you may think).

From mid-April, I also travelled for one month (hence this post covers both April and May) and saw some amazing places! I will soon write about them here and for the newspaper, so stay tuned!

Sneak preview of my travels in April and May!

Sneak preview of my travels in April and May! Any idea where this is?

Leave a Reply

