Winter in Jeddah

My whole life I have been a summer person. I love the warm weather, sun, and light during that time of the year, while winter has always been a struggle for me. The lack of light and cold make me want to hibernate. No matterhow many clothes I wear, I keep shivering; no matter how much I sleep, I still feel exhausted.

In Jeddah, it is (even for a hot-weather-loving person like me) the opposite. While summer, with its humidity, drains everyone’s energy, winter is the season people go out to enjoy the weather. Especially those crisp, windy days when we do not need AC and open all our windows to let the fresh air come in are a treat.

The swimming pool has been abandoned for the last few weeks.

The pool has been abandoned for the last few weeks.

Saudis enjoy those days going out to the Corniche (seaside) for a picnic, a barbecue, or a stroll. Many expats do the same, while those living on a compound spend their days around the swimming pool. Only the diehards keep taking a swim; most of us think less than 25 degrees Celsius is simply too cold for a dive.

DSC_0050

After the crazy weeks of November and December (in terms of events I had to cover for the newspaper) and the quiet (and lazy!) days around Christmas, January is the month of the food festivals. An Italian food festival at Rosewood Corniche, a Moroccan one at the Park Hyatt’s Andalusia Restaurant, and I believe a Saudi one at the InterContinental Hotel are currently taking place.

Here are some pictures of the Italian and Moroccan food festivals I attended (links to the articles in the Saudi Gazette will follow shortly):

DSC_0562 DSC_0570 DSC_0559 DSC_0560 DSC_0599 DSC_0579 DSC_0581 DSC_0582

P.S. This coming Friday is the Dubai Marathon. Please wish me luck! In the next post, hopefully more about how it went.

2 thoughts on “Winter in Jeddah

Leave a Reply

