Stuff

It’s been done. We have settled quite well in our new home. Had I known the work it would take to move I had probably said it would have been fine by me to stay where we were. But I’m happy we did it.

I thought I was a minimalistic person with not so much stuff. Boy was I wrong! I still have a long way to go. Although I must say we moved everything ourselves except for the fridge, washing machine, microwave, book case, and two boxes full of books. With four or five boxes and the same number of suitcases we went back and forth a zillion times! And every time we thought the next would be the last time. And every time we entered the old apartment we were amazed at how much trash there still was! Ahmed suggested we’d try to get rid of at least 30 percent of our stuff, but while unpacking my part I quickly realized that was not gonna happen. Not this time. Which makes the conviction that we’re going to stay in this house real long my only hope. A crash course in how to become a Buddha (i.e. get rid of my materialism) might work too.

So now it’s time to get back on track: back to writing (this is the first thing that comes out of my hands since a very long time), back to running (for the time being on the 225 meter-long ‘running track’ in our shared back yard, but hopefully soon also in the brand-new, to-be-installed-the-week-after-Eid (which finishes today) gym, also in our shared back yard), and back to cooking! I’m excited about cooking in our new kitchen, which is quite tiny BUT with oven (our previous kitchen only had a microwave oven). I’m full of ideas, but have to be patient ’cause my food processor cannot be plugged into the sockets here. Why do all recipes you come across suddenly require a food processor when you do not have one or cannot use it?

For now, I toasted peanuts and almonds, but have to wait to grind them to nut butters; I’m making bread – my favorite, with a lot of seeds in it (pumpkin, sunflower, flax, and sesame) – and baked sweet potato strips, which I sprinkled with some salt and cinnamon, for lunch.

IMAG0053
Baked sweet potatoes with cinnamon and a little salt – a quick, easy and healthy lunch

Dinner? Vegetarian fajitas with homemade flour tortillas and guacemole. ¡Buen provecho!

2 thoughts on “Stuff

Leave a Reply

